Introducing Author Barbara Watkins

Posted on December 17, 2012. Filed under: Author Interviews, L.Leander Book Reviews | Tags: , , , , , , , , , |

Barbs professional pic2I am so happy to have as my featured author this week the incredible Barbara Watkins.  She’s definitely got a lot of thrills and chills in store for her readers.  I’ve read Barbara’s short stories in a book she and Betty Dravis co-authored – Six Pack of Blood, but until I read Hollowing Screams I didn’t realize her capacity to hold a reader in suspense and make them squirm for hours on end.  You can read my review of Hollowing Screams here.

Interview with Barbara Watkins

by L.Leander

Where do you write? What’s your creative space like?

I have a room in my house that my husband and I converted into an office space. On the corner of my desk sits an old antique Royal typewriter,

a gift from my dear mother, and several horror posters adorn the walls including a poster from The Vampire Guardian Angel series, courtesy of horror Director/Producer, Lia Scott Price.

What is your favorite writing tool?

My just about worn out Dell computer and outdated Microsoft word processor! LOL)family pics from phone 801_1

What movie star would you pick as one of the characters in your book and why?  Nicole Kidman would be perfect to play the role of ‘Shannon’ – her performance in the paranormal flick, ‘The Others,’ absolutely blew my mind. Her portrayal of complex characters, along with the fact that she fits the description of ‘Shannon’ makes this actress my first pick.

What did you want to be when you grew up? Did you realize that dream?

I always thought that I would like to be an actress – that didn’t happen. However, I get to play make-believe and act in various roles every time I create a character – guess you could say that I have realized my dream!

Explain your creative process. Pantser? Outliner?

Um, I guess you could say that I’m more of a fly by the seat-of-my-pants plotter. It’s not like I don’t know where my story is going though – I just tend to let my characters lead me there.

If you could only have one mode of transportation what would it be, a horse or a bicycle? Why?

I’d have to say a horse, cause I’m too lazy to pedal a bike! LOL)

family pics from phone 802_1Do you dream about your stories? Ever written about a dream?

When I was quite young and would have nightmares, I often wrote them down in a journal. In fact, I have incorporated several of my nightmares into my writings – makes for some horrifying tales!

What were you like in high school? Class clown? Nerd? Cheerleader type?

Um, I guess you would say I was more of a class clown – definitely not a nerd or cheerleader type. I did have a habit of talking to my classmates too much, as often indicated on my report card. LOL)

What’s your favorite theme park? Why? (If you’ve never been, which one would you like to visit and why?)

Universal Studio in Orlando, Florida ROCKS! I love the simulated rides; particularly the ‘Back to the Future’ ride. Do they still have that one? LOL)

Are you a reader? What types of books do you like best? What author(s)?

family pics from phone 800_1I consider myself an avid reader when I’m not writing. It really depends on what kind of mood I’m in as to what I like to read.

I’ve been known to enjoy a good sappy love story, a comedy, and even a futuristic sci-fi. Nevertheless, give me a paranormal thriller, a thrilling horror tale and I’m in seventh heaven! Clive Barker, Stephen King, Anne Rice, and John Saul – all rate high on my list.

bwhollowingThank-you Barbara for an interesting and candid interview.  Readers, leave some comments and let Barbara know what you think about her interview and writing.  If you’d like to find out more about Barbara Watkins here are some links:

Barbara Watkins Website

Barbara Watkins Fan Page

Barbara Watkins on Twitter

Books by Barbara Watkins:

Hollowing Screams (Kindle Version)

Hollowing Screams (Paperback)

Mortal Abomination

Awaken Spirit (A Digital Short)

Six-Pack of Blood (with Betty Dravis)

Soon to be released:  Six-Pack of Fear (with Betty Dravis)

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

11 Responses to “Introducing Author Barbara Watkins”

RSS Feed for L.Leander's Reviews and Interviews Comments RSS Feed

I absolutely love this interview, not only because it’s about my co-author of my first horror book, but also because Barbara is a fine writer and I love her style and her characters. I agree with her about Nicole Kidman being perfect for the role of Shannon in Hollowing Screams.

Linda Leander is also one of my favorite authors, so I had double pleaure in reading this interesting blog this morning.

Thanks, ladies. You both rock!!!

Hugs – Bettty Dravis

P.S. I truly enjoyed the glimpse of your at-home office. Can’t wait to post my new poster in my Girl Cave. It’s a secret (Barbara gets one too from a huge movie industry source)… More about that when we receive our “surprises.” 🙂

I am honored to call both of you friends – it was pure delight interviewing you, Betty Dravis, and now Barbara Watkins. Still can’t sleep at night, though. It’s been happening ever since I read Six-Pack of Blood and now after Hollowing Screams I’m a real mess! I can’t seem to get enough paranormal, terror, horror, or whatever you call it, in my reading and you both provide it excellently!

Thank you so much for your lovely questions, and for sharing my answers with everyone, Linda! I did so enjoy my interview! It’s a small glimpse into what makes ‘this’ author tick, but I think it’s important to have that connection with ones audience.

What a great interview, Barbara. I love your description of a panster-plotter. Working with Betty Dravis must have been a great experience!

Barbara Watkins and Betty Dravis are a great team and wonderful authors alone too! Thanks for stopping by Dannie.

A great interview of my favourite horror author. I’ve been lucky enough to be friends via Facebook with Barbara for a long time now and thoroughly love her work. I hope to be in a movie of one of her works soon. :oD

Glad you came Phil. I love Barbara’s writing space with the great posters (do you think maybe I’ll get an invite to be in a movie of one of her books too?)

Absolutely awesome interview.Barbara Watkins is amazing writer and author and i am lucky to know her personally and to be able to collaborate with her on numerous projects in the past and continuing to do so into the future.

Thank you for commenting Dimi. I know both Barbara and Betty hold you in high esteem. I’m honored you stopped by the blog and honored to have interviewed Barbara – I loved getting to know her better!

Thank you so much for making such an awesome interview and giving your readers a glimpse from such a talented writer like Barbara Watkins..She is so down to earth and her and Betty Dravis are just two amazing ladies and artists who can create a whole new world with few world and pull you in without you even knowing about it..I wish to you and all your readers a merry Christmas and a very happy new years holidays and celebrations.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

